(Source: latimesblogs.latimes.com) The Producers Guild of America announced today that they will present their 2010 David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures to John Lasseter. The two-time Academy Award-winning director and chief creative officer of Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios and principal creative advisor of Walt Disney Imagineering, will receive the award at the 21st Annual PGA Awards ceremony on Jan. 24, 2010.

Lasseter’s directorial career includes such groundbreaking animated features and short films as “Toy Story” and “Toy Story 2,” as well as “A Bug’s Life,” “Cars,” and “Tin Toy,” the first computer animated film to receive an Oscar. As executive producer, he has overseen such blockbuster projects for Walt Disney and Pixar as “Monsters, Inc.,” “Finding Nemo,” “The Incredibles,” “Wall-E,” “Bolt” and “Up,” which opened the 2009 Cannes Film Festival. His next effort is “The Princess and the Frog,” which marks Disney’s return to hand-drawn animation.

Lasseter is the first producer of animated films to receive the Selznick Award. Previous recipients have included Billy Wilder, Stanley Kramer, Clint Eastwood, Robert Evans, Brian Grazer, Jerry Bruckheimer, Roger Corman and the team of Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall, who received the 2009 award. In 2002, Lasseter was the co-recipient of the PGA’s first Vanguard Awar

Write a comment


Nmancer’s TekLog is based on WordPress platform, RSS tech , RSS comments design by Gx3.